Bibliotheca

Rebecca – Daphne DuMaurier

DaphneDuMaurier_Rebecca_first
en.wikipedia.org

I can’t believe I have lived this long and never read Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier.

I’ve heard about this book my entire life. My mom always told me it was her favorite and so many others rave over it as well.

It has always been on my “To Read” list but I refused to buy it…until yesterday. I found it at a thrift store for 50 cents. It’s just the paperback, though.

I would love to find an original 1938 copyright in hardback.

I started it today and just finished Chapter 5. DuMaurier’s writing is flowery but not overly so and it is definitely keeping my attention.

My favorite line so far is –

“We all of us have our particular devil who rides us and torments us, and we must give battle in the end.”

I will continue giving my review as I progress through the novel.

I welcome any thoughts and insights….no spoilers, please!

0ad74-sigbackgound1

Leave a Reply

