Health · Recipes

Google Recipe Search-1 Pinterest-0

You know it’s a gamble when you try something posted on Pinterest or from anywhere on the internet, really . The pictures can be quite deceiving sometimes. I have tried two different recipes in the past two days – One from a Google search and one from Pinterest.

Let’s see who won! Hmmmm, maybe my blog post title gives it away 😉

Last night was Beef and Broccoli night (according to my handy dandy dry erase dinner calendar.) Hey, that’s a blog post idea! 🙂

I couldn’t remember pinning a recipe for this so I just said “OK Google” on my phone and did a search. SCORE!

The first hit was a recipe from Damn Delicious. I perused the ingredients and instructions and thought, “this will work.” I started getting ingredients out of the cabinet and discovered the soy sauce was nearly empty….UGH!! I could tell by looking that there was not 2/3 cup in that bottle.

So, I thought, “Michelle, you used to be a home economics teacher, you can do this by finding something that can be substituted.” SCORE AGAIN!

Teryiaki Marinade & Sauce was staring at me from the top shelf and I thought, “What the heck, let’s see??”

First ingredient: soy sauce…YAY!

I measured out about 1/4 cup of soy sauce and then measured out enough teriyaki to make 2/3 cup. I scaled back the rice vinegar a little which is one of the other ingredients listed on the teriyaki bottle and the recipe.

After that little hiccup, it was smooth sailing and it came together rather quickly. I did not use fresh broccoli but instead used frozen broccoli florets. Since the frozen broccoli released water as it heated up, I think I could’ve scaled back the amount of water listed in the recipe. I had to add more cornstarch at the end to make the sauce nice and thick.

If you are craving Beef and Broccoli, you won’t find an easier or better recipe over on Damn Delicious.

Easy Beef and Broccoli

Prep Time 5 minutes

Cook Time 10 minutes

Total Time 15 minutes

Yield 4 servings

 

The BEST and EASIEST beef and broccoli made in 15 min from start to finish. And yes, it’s quicker, cheaper and healthier than take-out!

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon Sriracha, or more, to taste
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pound flank steak, thinly sliced across the grain
  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets

Instructions

  • In a medium bowl, whisk together soy sauce, chicken stock, honey, vinegar, brown sugar, garlic, sesame oil, cornstarch, Sriracha, ginger, red pepper flakes and 1/4 cup water; set aside.
  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add steak and cook, flipping once, until browned, about 3-4 minutes. Stir in broccoli and soy sauce mixture until tender and slightly thickened, about 3-4 minutes.
  • Serve immediately.

Notes

Adapted from Oh, Sweet Basil

Sorry! But I don’t have any pics of my dish but it looked just like the pics on Damn Delicious.

Try it! You will love it!

damndelicious.net
Courtesy http://www.DamnDelicious.net

 

Let’s talk about the failure from Pinterest 😦

Coconut Flour Gluten Free Bread

It just totally flopped. Only rose about an inch, needed more salt and more leavening.

wp-1454439561361.jpg

When I try recipes from Google search or from Pinterest, I try to read the comments by readers. I didn’t do that before trying the GF Bread. I should have! LESSON LEARNED!

I might try it again with more leavening and as one reader suggested to beat the eggs thoroughly with the warm coconut oil before adding the rest of the ingredients.

Just click here to see the recipe.

Let me know what you think or how you would adjust the recipe!

Sig Backgound1

2 thoughts on “Google Recipe Search-1 Pinterest-0

Leave a Reply

