Crafts

DIY Home Organizer

I almost forgot! I did make a Christmas present for someone this past Christmas. And no, I haven’t forgotten about the almost failed gifts I attempted. I am still working on them. :). See Failure is an Option post, in case you missed it.

So, I guess I can say one arm just slowed me down some but I didn’t let it beat me. I managed to put together a household/chore management system for my sweet DIL and family. The beauty of this system is that it’s not a planner to be buried under stuff nor is it electronic to have notifications dismissed. It is a collage frame with chalkboard stickers that hangs on a prominent wall of the living space so it is seen every day by all family members.

DIY Frame Organizer
Completed DIY Home Organizer

Let me show you how I made it.

The first thing I did was purchase a frame with multiple photo holders. I chose a frame from Wayfair that had a photo holder for each day of the week (at least.) I then purchased scrapbook paper, chalkboard stickers, chalk paint marker and a dry erase marker.

Chalkboard stickers
Purchased from Amazon
Scrapbook Paper
Purchased from Tuesday Morning

Using the stock photos that come with the frame as a template, I cut scrapbook paper to size and placed in each photo frame. With this particular frame, I left the center as is, because I liked the saying on it. After replacing the back on the entire frame, I then placed chalkboard stickers directly on the glass.  After getting the stickers in the right positions, I then used a chalk paint pen to write the days of the week and “Grocery List” on them. I chose these titles because I thought they suited my family’s needs the best. You can use any titles you like.

And it was that easy! It’s complete! I included the chalk paint marker and a dry erase marker with the frame as her gift. If I make another one, I will probably use velcro and figure out a good place to attach the dry erase marker so it doesn’t get lost.

If you are interested in making one for yourself or as a gift, just click on the product links above or click on the picture below to purchase the same or similar supplies.

 

0ad74-sigbackgound1

2 thoughts on “DIY Home Organizer

Leave a Reply

