Health · Recipes

Go Green Hamburger

Originally published on Home By Hand Blog January 14, 2013.

Green Hamburger?

What?

You think I am proposing you eat rotten hamburger meat?

Rest easy, that would totally go against my safety and sanitation training. What I am talking about it is saving money and the landfill of plastic freezer bags.

I buy hamburger meat in bulk and since it is just my husband and I, we don’t eat a big quantity at a time. If I divided 5 pounds of hamburger meat in 1 pound amounts it would take five bags as compared to just two. So, here is my method of going green with hamburger freezer storage. When ready for ground beef for a meal, take bag out of freezer and break off only what you need then return to the freezer. This works perfectly for 2 people meals (like me and David). It also saves freezer bags and the smaller chunks defrost more evenly in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

